The Merengue Soul











{March 24, 2011}   I feel like Chantel in The Bachelor right now

http://www.howtozumbawearclothing.com

I have a confession to make – I’m feeling a bit bummed because it’s hard to measure up to such a great instructor who was working at Premier for like 3 years.   I feel like Chantel waiting to get that final rose of acceptance from my class but maybe my deep insecurity about the whole thing has me doubting myself.   Before I took over the class in Milton I was told that there were 50 or 60 people that take that class but the most I’ve ever seen was almost 30.  Always had me feeling did the other 30 jump ship because she doesn’t teach anymore?  Then when I asked someone last week who took her classes if there were ever 50 or 60 people there, she said no and that if there were they’d be like “sardines in a can” in there.  I also heard that members cried when she left.

I have to say that it’s a quieter crowd than I’m used to. I feel so spoiled working at Wynn fitness as a Zumba instructor on Monday nights because they’re truly the best crowd.   There whooing and clappin and having a fab old time. I don’t even have to say anything after a song and they’re cheering and giving me thumbs up. It’s such a great feeling to see that members appreciate what you’re trying to give them…

But when you’re constantly being compared to previous instructor with years experience based on locker room gossip, I should be saying..u know it’s their right..and if it were me..I’d be making comparisons too.  I really wanted to take her last class but she didn’t show up and I ended up having to teach the class.   I know they really wanted to see “her”..so I was a little worried that they’d be bummed that they were left with “me”.   They even told me, they wanted me to teach them the zumba class that day so I did and gave it my best.  One member told me , that the members were afraid that they’d be stuck with someone they didn’t like.   I’m still trying to figure out if they ‘like me’.   The numbers are getting increasingly good which tells me ‘maybe the members are warming up to my technique’.

What is my class like? Hmmm Definately a mixed playlist of most international sounds – There has to be some sexy moves in there, some hip hop, some belly dance, salsa, merengue…oh definately cumbia…recently some soca, bollywood, and a house warmup and batchata cooldown

Here’s a typical music type playlist for a class:

  1. house warmup
  2. merengue
  3. salsa
  4. latin pop
  5. reggaeton
  6. merengue
  7. salsa
  8. cumbia
  9. reggaeton
  10. latinpop
  11. bellydance
  12. soca
  13. salsa
  14. bollywood
  15. cumbia
  16. batchata cooldown

I like to have alot of songs and variety in a class so most songs are 3 minutes n’ something.

How can I expect to really measure up to someone who has 3 years Zumba teaching experience, with Can fit pro group fitness training to lil ol young me, with 6 months teaching experience and no can fit pro but are familiar with fitness since it’s something I’ve been doing since a late teenager?? – excuse the run on sentence please.

I really have to give this more time u know – 6 months in and I’m so happy I have fans already. I can’t wait to see what having experience will evolve me into …maybe a Zumba Superhero! I really want to evolve into someone who is fit, and who has limitless energy and gleams with a Zumba glow from a far.  I’ll go as far as my knees will take me – Come on zumba knees! take me to where I need to go!

 

 



well I’ve decided to follow and flock to places where I’m feelin da Zumba Love which is why my wednesday’s are currently free. I get my Zumba Love on Sundays, Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. There may be an opportunity for me working on wednesdays at wynn. We will see what the Zumba Love crystal ball holds for me in thea near futurrrreeeee.



Leave a comment

et cetera