The Merengue Soul











{January 7, 2011}   Who is Tanya Beardsley who was born from a boom box?

http://www.howtozumbawearclothing.com

Who is Tanya Beardsley? It was a question I was asking myself back in July of 2010 before going to the Can-Fit-Pro conference where she was going to attend.  I know things about her based on what I learned at the conference but who is she really?  This is a girl who will have Zumba training sessions SOLD OUT months in advance before any other zumba celebrity, including the creator himself Beto Perez!  There is just something about that girl that vibes off of her like an endorphin that we need more of.

So when I ask “Who is Tanya Beardley”, I’m not just talking about where she’s from and what’s her favorite color. I’d love to know who she is as a person.   If I were to interview her , here are a few questions I’d ask:

  • When did you know you wanted “dance” to be a part of your full time career?
  • At what age did you realize that you have a natural ability to motivate and inspire others?
  • Did you ever have issues with public speaking/or public performance when you were a young chica?  Is that a hump you had to overcome? How did you overcome it?
  • Are you happy?
  •  Do you have other career goals related to Zumba?
  • What do you enjoy doing while not working?
  • If you had three wishes for your life in particular, what would they be?
  • You use the strong phrase “Keep your ego at the door” – What works for you to make sure that you yourself follow this advice as well?
  • Oh yeah and gotta ask…are some of your awesome looking shoes custom made? How do you feel about your fans wanting to wear the same shoes as you? I’m not gonna name any names lol!

So Tanya …my BFF never forget me..Farida…feel free to respond to any of the questions of the above at my email 

Here is some basic information about Tanya Beardley  to know:

  • She lives in Manhattan, New York
  • Her zodiac sign is Cancer…like me…we’re practically sisters;)
  • She competed in professional ballroom latin dance before her Zumba career
  • She cuts up her zumba t’s either mens or womens shirts and wears them with colored bra tops.
  • Saw her in the dreamer zumbawear shirt and it looks ammmmazing! and chica sexy!!
  • She has a muscular build now and some big guns! I forgot to ask her to flex for me or even arm wrestle..but she still looks sexy and very feminine
  • She has a favorite golfer hat which she looks great in
  • Some of her words to live by “Doubt Kills, Some movement is better than no movement at all, Give 130% when teaching your classes and maybe your classmates will give you back 50%, if 5 people don’t like your style there are 15 others that will, when you’re teaching if they don’t get the steps by the fourth round then simplify the steps for the next time, teach at the learning level of your class but give your energy 130%, the more energized your participants are the and the more they get the steps the more calories they burn, don’t repeat songs just make your steps easy enough so that they can do the steps to burn calories, 35% of the class routines should involve fitness moves by using a dance step and sprinkle a fitness variation into that step to keep it fun, music should be 70% international and 30% regular, that 30% should be included in your warmup and cooldown songs, use your warmup as a hook with easy steps to get everyone moving but make them work for the fund stuff, warmup should be 8-15 min and cooldown at least 5 min and the body of the workout 40 min and Zumba is a Fitness class based on international dance rythems not just latin music.

http://www.howtozumbawearclothing.com

 

 

Iris Stuart says:

Where is Tanya from or where are her parents from?



I know that she is part Italian and grew up in New York for the most part. Gonna see her on August 12th or 11th so i’ll try to make more dilligent notes there. or even requiest an interview for questions i’ve been dying to ask her all year!



she is from westport connecticut



Alina says:

hi
happy you – gonna see Tanya soon 🙂
I could watch her dancing for hours!
I wish I had this chance…
here’s my favourite http://www.clarkbartram.com/video/zumba-tanya-beardsley
do you or does anyone else happen to know the names of the songs in this video?



video isn’t there anymore:(



Alina says:

No, it isn’t 😦 and I can’t find it anywhere else.. almost six years later 🙂 But I still would like to find THAT song.. I must have it recorded somewhere – I’ll have a look 🙂



I love how Zumba Fitness has expanded their music selection. How could we ever get bored of doing Zumba classes when you have so many songs to choose from?! For a Dancehall I’m using this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNOgO7aNslo



Alina says:

Got it! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89IBAPupiIc I absolutely love the song at 0:50-0:56 🙂



Hey girl! Thanx for the update!!!



Did you all see the answers yet? Here are the answers to most of the questions above answered by yours Truly Tanya Beardsleeeeyyyyyyyyyyyy! Hooorrrrrraaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! and the crowd goes wilddddd! Tanya Tanya Tanya! 😛 https://thezumbasoul.wordpress.com/2011/08/22/who-is-tanya-beardsley-born-from-a-boom-box-the-interview/



April Hubbard says:

In my words it would be “G and T; G and T BOO-YAH -its your birthday, shake your booty now – heeeeeey”. I havent met you or Gina yet. Just seeing the videos of both of you on the internet is enough to make me tear up Even when when my zumba teacher brought me back the pink pair of pants that Gina even wore herself at the 2011/2012 convention, i was tearing up like a baby. You both inspire me sooooo much and if i am lucky enough to meet the the two of you that would be a real miracle in itself and the luckiest day of my life. It’s just a shame it hasn’t happened yet.



April Hubbard says:

Reading through your Born From a Boombox interview first of all you remind me of myself you’re just as emotional as i am and when i dance its about expression and trying to say something through it that our own words can’t but we arent in this world alone and we don’t have to die alone. I believe in God and i believe that Jesus did die for our sins. You collapsed from exhaustion and all i did was pray to him that you would be ok again. You should have seen the way i was crying. Just to know that you are ok happy and healthy that makes me tear up because i know thats a true answer to my prayers. I love you lots.



Suzie says:

I love her too!!! There’s just something about her that really gets me inspirated! After doing her CDs, I felt so awkward with the other girls. I don’t know why! But she made me feel different, something special about the way she moves and smiles, her demeanor:)



April Hubbard says:

Been using my stepbrothers account Just had to know that I could find a way to contact you. got caught in the middle of some family drama that included him. I only tried to talk some sense into him and he laughed in my face. I believe he will be out of here soon and in his own place, so i wont be able to contact you again. I ldont have my own email address or facebook. For the record i told my best friend tonight about how you are personality wise and he said he thinks i have found my twin. That really made me smile. And we are both in our 30’s, but when i ask my friends how old turned on my birthday i tell them to answer wisely and they wont get hurt. I tell them when i hit thirty that i started going back down. I guess i’m just freaked about being in my thirties is all.



April Hubbard says:

The last thing i want is to come off too strong i forget this is a website its not connected to Tanya herself. There was some family drama yes but i was also just frusturated, but i shouldn’t have posted that online and i’m sorry. Turning thirty may have its upsides. My mom says its a milestone and had thrown me a huge surprise party for it at the restaurant where i work at. Its not so easy either and thats something i have been learning.



April Hubbard says:

Got to go ona crfuise recentley. It was so much fun. Some of the friends i made though seemed like they could use something like Zumba in their life. When i asked if they offered Zumba at their gym, they didn’t know what i was talking about. Its sad they don’t have that on cruise ships. That’s something i do wish i could change. I still got to get up there on that little stage and danced all night long. I had many compliments and one person asked if i was a dance teacher. That made me smile. I just try to be an inspirtation with Zumba in any way i can.



bananas says:

Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew
where I could get a captcha plugin ffor my comment form?
I’m using thee same blog platform as yours aand I’m having problems finding one?

Thanks a lot!



thought they automatically implement that…guess not.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
